Home Politics 18 years since Dayton Peace Accords

18 years since Dayton Peace Accords

Dayton Peace Accords Signed

The General Framework Agreement for Peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina was signed on the 21st of November in 1995 at the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Dayton. With this agreement the war in BH was ended and a constitutional order was established.

This agreement created a sovereign Bosnia and Herzegovina comprised of two entities, Republika Srpska and the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, who are the signatories of all annexes that serve as key documents for the implementation and functioning of a state established by an international agreement.

The Dayton Agreement, after three week long negotiations, was initialed by the then president of Serbia Slobodan Milosevic, the former president of the Republic of BH Alija Izetbegovic and the former president of Croatia Franjo Tudjman.

It was initialed in the presence of the then Secretary of State Warren Christopher, U.S. agents Richard Holbrooke and Gen. Wesley Clark.

The Dayton Agreement was officially signed on the 14th of December in 1995 at the Elysee Palace in Paris.

The 21st of November is a public holiday in Republika Srpska.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here